My Top 5.

I want to share my current top 5 quotes and Bible verses that provide hope and refreshment for the heart and soul. Take the next few minutes to be encouraged, inspired, challenged, and renewed.

(In bold you will find the Bible verse or quote that I reference, followed by my own thoughts.)

10. “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” -Matthew 11:28. In the midst of chaos, struggles, pain, and discouragement, everyone of us needs rest. Rest that isn’t just physical (though that is needed), but rest for the heart and spirit. The only rest that I find in this world is in the promise of rest in Jesus.

9. “God doesn’t want something for us. He simply wants us.” -C.S. Lewis. If you are like me, performance drives you. In work, relationships, sports, etc., our performance is the measure of success. This carries over into our relationship with God, too. If we give God our best performance, He will be pleased. Yet, this is not the case. God simply wants you and I- no performance required.

8. “For,’All men are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field; the grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of the Lord stands forever. And this is the word that was preached to you.'” 1 Peter 1:24-25. These two verses give me hope that even though people and their glory may pass away, God and His Word are eternal.

7. “The gospel is that Jesus Christ came to earth, lived the life we should have lived and died the death we should have died.” -Tim Keller. What a simple, yet profound view of what Jesus did for man. He lived a sinless life in perfect harmony with God that we were intended to live and in that life, died the death that was meant for us. This is a picture of unfathomable, undeserved grace.

6. “Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves.” -Philippians 2:3. I would be a liar if I said that this verse makes me feel all warm and cozy on the inside. When I read this verse, it makes me evaluate my own life and realize that I fall short of this picture of humility. At the same time, it doesn’t mean I “try harder” at perfecting this verse. Rather, I follow in the steps of my Savior and lean on His strength in order to make this once impossible verse become a way of life. (Side note: Aren’t we glad that God doesn’t give up on us…?)

5. “If you are in Christ you are no longer defined by what you have done wrong. You are defined by what Christ did right. -Mark Batterson Possibly one of my favorite quotes as of late. Too often, we focus on what we do wrong and miss the amazing picture of the Cross: we no longer need to dwell in our sin, but rather, dwell in the freedom of Christ!

Leave a Reply

