I Don’t Remember Anything.

About a week ago, I had to go to the hospital and have a little something done. What I had done was nothing big at all, but it did require me to have an IV so that I could be given sedation medicine. Everyone who knows me knows that when it comes to needles, I immediately freak out. In fact, I am so petrified of needles that I have trouble sleeping the night before I get one!

As I lay on the table ready to be given my sedation medicine, I began to panic. I was so scared that I was told that my heart rate shot up to 150-which is equivalent to a heart rate for a spinning workout! Because I was so scared, instead of receiving the normal 4-6 mg of sedation medicine, I was given 14 mg of sedation medication. 14 mg is a lot of medication to say the least.

After I was given the medication, the fun began. You see, for those of you that are unfamiliar with sedation medicine, the medicine allows you to stay awake, but you don’t remember anything you do or say. While I was in the recovery room, beecause of the medicine, I said a lot of things that I don’t remember saying!

After I got home my wife, Paula, began to tell me everything I said to her, to my mom, and to the nurses who were in my room. As she kept telling me things I said at the hospital, I became more and more embarrassed! And the most frustrating part of all of it is that I don’t remember saying anything! After Paula would tell me something that I said, I would say: “No way! I don’t remember ANY of this!”

As I sit and write this, I can honestly say that I don’t remember anything that I said over a week ago. I find it fascinating that every time my wife would tell me things, I would reply “I don’t remember ANYTHING!” But, what I find even more fascinating that in my relationship with Jesus, He says the same thing to me about my sin and my past. Often times I remind God about my past and my sin and believe that He holds all of it against me. I think that his love for me will run out or He will stop forgiving me. But, He doesn’t and never will. He says to me, “Eric, I don’t remember ANYTHING. Your past, your sin…NOTHING! My Son took your past and your sin on the cross and died for it. He rose three days later showing that death and sin can’t hold Him down. He did that to pay the price of sin and to free you from it. Therefore, I don’t hold anything against you because My Son took it on for you.”

“For I will be merciful toward their iniquities, and I will remember their sins no more.” -Hebrews 8:12

“I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more.” -Isaiah 43:25

If you struggle with your past or hold onto guilt, confess your shortcomings and trust in Jesus. He desires to have a relationship with all of us. Let God be the One that soothes your soul and allow Him to whisper to you: “I don’t remember ANYTHING…”

One Response to “I Don’t Remember Anything.”

  1. Tammy Gilchrist Says:

    Love this, Eric! I love how God forgives and “forgets!” I think sometimes we judge ourselves harder than God judges us!

Leave a Reply

