Love That Never Fails.

I opened by Bible this morning to the Psalms and landed on Psalm 136. I noticed right away that there is a pattern to this psalm that makes it unique. The Psalmist, overwhelmed by the steady love and faithfulness of God, begins each sentence with what God has done and ends the sentence with, “…for his steadfast love endures forever.” Over and over again, the writer repeats himself, “…for his steadfast love endures forever.”

Often in my life, it’s easy to forget the faithfulness and steadfast love of God. I become too consumed with myself and the worries of life that I actually miss what God has done, is doing, and will continue to do.

I want to write out “my own” Psalm 136 to highlight God’s faithfulness and to give thanks for redeeming my life. My hope is that you will do the same-that you will take a long look at your life, praise God, and end every breath with, “…for his steadfast love endures forever.”

My Psalm 136 

I lived my life as if God didn’t exsist,
   for his steadfast love endures forever.
He rescued me from emptiness and dispair,
   for his steadfast love endures forever.
He doesn’t give up on me even when I give up on Him,
   for his steadfast love endures forever.
He gave my the wife of my dreams,
   for his steadfast love endures forever.
My family and friends are better than I could have imagined,
   for his steadfast love endures forever.
My church and it’s people are agents of love and change,
   for his steadfast love endures forever.
He’s there when I doubt, worry, struggle, fear, and am in the depths of the valley,
for his steadfast love endures forever.

 

And when I finally close my eyes and take my last breath, I’ll spend eternity with Him. Why?
   for his steadfast love endures forever.

  


 

Leave a Reply

