My 4 Best Friends.

Proverbs 18:24 says, “There are ‘friends’ who destroy each other, but a real friend sticks closer than a brother.” I’m honored to say that I have four guy friends that actively live out this verse in my life. All four of them made such an impression on my life this past week that I had to tell about it. Though these stories may not seem important or a big deal to others, they impacted my life for eternity.

Friend #1: You know the people in your life that “act” like they care about you, but they really don’t? Sure, they say they are your friends, but deep down you know that they really don’t care about you. I’m thankful that this friend is the complete opposite of this. This friend puts me to shame by his love and humility for people, especially for me.

Let me give you a prime example of this. My wife and I went on vacation this past week and the day after we returned, we attended a wedding. My friend was there and when he saw me, he ran up to me, gave me a big hug, looked at me and said, “Man, I’ve missed you. It’s great to have you back.” He wasn’t saying that to make me feel good nor was he trying to impress me; he was genuine and heart-felt.

It’s hard to express what happens when one feels truly loved and cared for by a friend. It is almost as if it is Jesus loving me. Even though it wasn’t a big deal for my friend, he was Jesus in the flesh for me. For that, I’m eternally grateful for him.

Friend #2: Life is hard, isn’t it? There are crucial decisions that need to be made that can alter one’s life forever. When I’ve been in these places in my life, this friend has been right next to me in my journey. Through his wisdom and advice, he has encouraged me to always follow my God-given dreams. Though he doesn’t know it, he came through again for me this past week.

My friend and I were talking about our dreams in life-where we see ourselves in the future, who we want to become, etc. He spoke to me about where he sees me in the future and consistently gave me great advice, wrapped in honesty and love. After talking with him, I felt immediate relief. He helped remove the fear that’s paralyzed me and helped me see the truth. For that, I’m eternally grateful for him.

Friend #3 and #4 (both were involved in this story): There are times in your life when you’ve been knocked down and you need someone to pick you up. I’m thankful that these friends were the ones that peeled me off the ground.

I wrote both of these guys an email today expressing what’s been going on in my life and asked them to reply back to me when they had time. Within three minutes, both guys wrote back to me. They said that they loved me, believed in me, pointed me back to God’s grace and that they always have my back. They allowed me to experience God’s forgiveness all over again, which was something that I’d lost track of in my heart. Without them, I’d still be drowning in a sea of lies. For that, I’m eternally grateful for them.
There are people in your life that are closer to you than a brother (or sister). Often, it’s near impossible to have even one of these people grace your life. If you find one, don’t let go. I’m thankful that I have four of them-and I’m not letting go.

I love you guys.

Leave a Reply

